Rules FAQ

Below you will find frequently asked questions concerning various rules and effects that you may encounter while playing Earthborne Rangers. If anything is ever unclear, feel free to reach out to us at for a clarification. Frequently asked questions will end up here for everyone’s reference.

If you’re looking for Clarifications and Corrections, you can find that information here.

The Delightful Rule

While playing Earthborne Rangers, always follow the “delightful rule.” If you are ever unable to find the answer to a rules or timing conflict in our rules reference or this FAQ, resolve the conflict in the manner that would be the most beneficial to you and your fellow Rangers. If your group is unable to agree on a resolution, the decision falls to the lead Ranger.

For cards with multiple effects, if I can’t perform one of the effects, do I still perform the others?

Yes. Always perform as many of the effects on a card as possible. The two exceptions are if the effect has a dependency noted by "to" or the ">>" symbol. In those cases, if you can't perform one or more of the effects before the "to" or the ">>," you do not perform the effects that follow.

If a challenge effect does nothing but doesn’t feature the “>>” notation, does it still count as “resolving?”

No. If a challenge effect fails to do anything (because it doesn’t have a target or the game state is such that it is made impotent), the challenge effect does not count as resolving. For example, the challenge effect on Black Mud exhausts your role. If your role is already exhausted, that challenge effect does not resolve.

If I perform a test that interacts with a being or feature that is within reach or along the way, and as a result of the test that being or feature moves to within reach of another Ranger, is that card still considered active for that test?

No. When you perform a test – before you resolve challenge effects – the areas that count as active are “locked in” for the remainder of the test. For example, if you interact with a card that is within reach and then, as a result of the test, it moves to within reach of another Ranger, that card would not be considered active for the remainder of the test. Conversely, while you’re resolving a test, a ready card that moves from an “inactive” area to an active one becomes active itself.

If a challenge effect moves a card to an area whose challenge effects have already been resolved, do the challenge effects on that card still resolve this test?

No. Since challenge effects are completely resolved in one area before you move on to the next, the challenge effects on a card that moves to an area in which challenge effects have already been resolved do not.

What information is carried over between days? If I play a second day in the same play session, do I keep my injuries? Do I keep my mission progress?

The rules assume that the game is completely packed up between days. As such, anything that is not in your Ranger deck list, tracked on the campaign tracker, or established during the setup instructions is reset between days. This means you remove all injuries, and any mission progress that is not recorded on the campaign tracker is lost. Though any permanent alterations made to your Ranger deck are maintained. 

When a rules effect prematurely ends the round, does that prevent Rangers from resting? If a Ranger has one or more injury tokens, does it mean they don’t suffer fatigue from injury that round?

When an effect "ends the round" you end the Ranger Turns phase of the current round. Any Rangers that have not already rested do not rest that round. Then, each of these effects instruct you to travel with special instructions. Resolve that travel as instructed, perform the Refresh phase, then proceed to a new round as normal.

Can abilities that scout path cards be used on “special” decks such as the Spire deck or the detritus deck?

No. You can only scout the path deck. Special decks cannot be scouted unless specified by name.

What happens to a card if an effect causes it to go somewhere it doesn’t belong? For example, what happens if I choose a Ranger being with Seen Through Cycles? Or if I were to discard Biscuit Basket while it’s equipped?

In most cases, the card is discarded and placed in the discard that matches its type (as denoted by the design on the back of the card). Mission cards are the one exception. Instead of being discarded, they are instead returned to the Surroundings. See "Mission Cards" on page 30 of the rulebook. Using the two examples, Seen Through Cycles would send a Ranger being to the Ranger discard. Biscuit Basket cannot be discarded from play since missions can only be removed from play by completing them (as noted on page 30).

If a challenge effect places harm or progress on my turn, am I considered to have done that for the purposes of card effects? For example, if a challenge effect places harm on a flora, do I add a token to Loose Leaf Tea Kit?

No. Only harm or progress placed by tests you perform or cards you play counts as having been placed by you. If on your turn, however, a challenge effect places enough harm or progress on a card to clear it, you are considered to have cleared that card.

What counts as a path card for the purpose of resolving card effects? (e.g. for Camoweave Cloak and Memorill Sketchpad) For example, does a being or feature from a Ranger deck count as a path card?

For the purpose of resolving card effects, all beings and features are considered path cards while they are in play. See "Features or Beings" description under "Play a Card" on page 13 of the rulebook.

Can you trade for cards with the expert trait with the abilities on vendors like Ren Kobo, Kobo’s Market or the village Elders?

No. You cannot choose any card from a "vendor" that you wouldn't be able to choose at character creation.

Are Spire and the Biological Outpost connected by a single river path?

No. To travel between Spire and the Biological Outpost by river, you would need to first travel to Stoneweaver Bridge.

Do I read the “standard” journal entry for a card when it is put directly into play by the campaign guide? What if the card is put directly into play by some other rules effects?

No. When cards are put into play by the campaign guide or other rules effects, their standard entry is typically replaced by a custom entry, a crafted narrative unique to the situation, or instructions telling you to not read the standard entry. If it is not, read the standard entry.

When a card with Flood attached is cleared during Rising Waters, which effect triggers? The “clear” effect on Rising Waters, or the “Leaves Play” effect on the Flood?

The clear effect triggers before the leaves play effect, so Rising Waters takes precedent. The "leaves play" effect on Flood is intended to resolve only if the path card to which it is attached is discarded from play by any means apart from clearing it with progress or harm.

Do cards attached to my role (e.g. Puffercrawler) fatigue me when I interact with my equipped gear?


Are token quantities limited to the number that come in the box?

No. If you run out of tokens of a specific type, you can use whatever you'd like in their place (glass beads, wooden cubes, coins, dice, etc.).